The March Primary Election will be done by mail only with limited exceptions. Deadline for BOE to receive ballots is April 28th.

More details to come.

To request an absentee application please read below.

Under the Ohio Director of Health’s Stay at Home order the Ashtabula Board of Election’s office will be closed to the public through April 6th.
Our temporary office hours will be from 10AM to 2PM through April 6th.
We will be handling board related business through mail, email or phone correspondence.
In order to receive an absentee ballot, you must first fill out an absentee ballot application. You can find the application form below.
You can also email your name, mailing address, contact information and number of applications needed to [email protected].

You can also leave a message for our staff. Again, we need your name, mailing address, phone number and number of applications requested. Office number is below.

In office visits must first be scheduled and approved on a case by case basis by the Director or Deputy Director.

To request a ballot by mail, complete the application available here and mail it to the Board of Elections office

If you have questions or need more info please call the office at 440-576-6915

Ashtabula County Board of Elections
8 West Walnut Street
Jefferson, OH 44047
Fax: 440-576-1445
E-Mail: [email protected]
Office Hours: 8:30 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.
Monday through Friday
Hours for In Person Absentee Voting for the March 17 Primary Election

To find your polling place, Click here for the Polling Place Search.

Proof of identification is now required for ALL VOTERS.

Click on the Voter Registration Info tab for details.

46 Day and 100 Day Notice for Federal Write-in Absentee Ballots Notices

Enhancements to In-Person Absentee Voting

Ballot Printing Specifications for the March 17, 2020 General Election


New Equipment Instructional Videos


Charlie Frye

Deborah A. Newcomb
Deputy Director

Members of the Board
Joseph J. Varckette, Chairperson
Luanne M. Laakso
Isaac A. Arthur
Nicholas W. Wayman