Ohio Flag

An official government website.

You may request an Absentee Ballot by…

completing an Absentee Ballot Application prescribed by the Ohio Secretary of State and returning it to the Board of Elections via mail or hand delivery, or calling the Board of Elections and requesting an Absentee Ballot Application to be mailed to you

You may return your absentee ballot to the Board of Elections by:

  • mailing it to the Board of Elections for your county
  • hand-delivering by you or a relative to the Board of Elections office


Absentee Guidelines

  • Under Ohio law, absentee voting begins twenty nine days prior to an election.
  • Voters may submit applications to receive an absentee ballot by mail beginning January 1st of the election year or 90 days before the election, whichever is earlier, and ending at the close of business on the seventh day before Election Day.
  • We cannot accept faxed or emailed absentee requests. They must be mailed or hand delivered.
  • The last day for Absentee Voting is the Sunday prior to Election Day at 5:00 P.M.
  • Do not drop your Absentee Ballots off at your polling location. They will not be counted.
  • All mail ballots must be post marked by the day before the election and received within 4 days after Election Day.
  • If you return your ballot to the board in person, or if a near relative delivers it for you, the board of elections must receive your ballot no later than 7:30 p.m. on
    Election Day.

Medical Emergencies

The absentee ballot request deadline in the case of medical emergencies is 3 p.m. on election day. To be eligible under this provision, you must be confined in a hospital because of a medical emergency. A close relative may deliver and return your ballot if you so request and state the relative’s name and relationship on the application, or representatives of the board of elections can deliver the ballot.
Medical Emergency Absentee Ballot Application

Uniformed Service Members, Their Families & Citizens Living Outside The U.S.

Federal Voting Assistance Program

Absentee Exceptions

UOCAVA voters must sign their ballot by the close of polls, regardless of whether they are postmarked or where the voter is located and received by the board within 4 days after election day.